Paris, October 27th, 2020

 

FIGHTING HATRED, VIOLENCE AND THE DESTRUCTION THREATS AGAINST FRANCE

The NGO Respect Zone, involved in the fight against cyber-violence, wishes to pay a tribute to Mr Samuel Paty, a teacher assassinated for carrying out his educational mission. 

It wishes to express its members’ most profound condolences to his family and loved ones.

Mr. Samuel Paty was a much appreciated teacher and concerdened about the future of his students. One of those teachers who marked our adolescence, whose name, words and face are never forgotten.

He was a teacher open to the world and to all cultures, who solely aimed at broadening the minds of his students by empowering them in better understanding of the world and its diversity.

For teaching a course on freedom of expression, some people who disagreed with the values of our Republic raged against him and others committed the odious act we know.

We extend our tribute by remembering also Jonathan Sandler, a teacher assassinated on March 19, 2012 with his two little boys Ariéh and Gabriel in front of the Ozar Hatorah school in Toulouse.

After the shock and astonishment, then the sustained homage and meditation, the time has come to ask ourselves the appropriate questions, at a time when the values of our Republic are being called into question by some of our fellow citizens and by foreign governments:

How can laicity be still be resonating ?

How can the values of the Republic and democracy be transmitted?

How can we uphold freedom of expression while eradicating online hatred?

Let us return to freedom of expression. Respect for freedom of expression consists in guaranteeing the essence of our laws: any criticism is considered lawful and legitimate as long as it is aimed at Things (God, Allah, YVH, their emissaries, the Church of Rome, Socialism, Ecology, Veganism, Capitalism, Scouting, etc.) and not at Beings.

Respect for freedom of expression means giving to opinion and debate their due licence while ensuring that no one’s integrity and security should be concerned.

Respect for freedom of expression means guaranteeing everyone the possibility of having the skills to analyse information, to detect manipulation and false information, to be empowered and sure of its own convictions.

It is now urgent to address these issues with all secondary and high school students in France.

To that end, Respect Zone makes three proposals:

   1. At the end of the school holidays, to hold a minute of silence in homage to Mr Samuel Paty and to discuss with all the secondary and high school students in France the issue of respect for freedom of expression, the use of digital tools and the values of the Republic.

   2. To establish “the day of respect” on 16 October each year in homage to Mr Samuel Paty and to invite all secondary school students to reflect on the issue of respect for freedom of expression and the values of the Republic at this occasion.

   3. Make the major digital platforms more responsible and commit them to better moderation while making them participate fully in our democratic life by creating a tax that will provide a public fund supporting associations fighting cyber-violence and defending freedom of expression and the values of the Republic.

“The assassination of Samuel Paty and the wave of hate contents that we have been witnessing since October 16th prove that the measures put in place over the past 20 years are no longer suited to our society. Our association Respect Zone demands in each class and from the very end of the hollidays the introduction of a minute of silence preceded by a compulsory discussion on the October 16th attack as well as the creation of an annual day of respect. Moreover, it is becoming urgent to adopt new rules at the European level that will make social network platforms more responsible and impose on them enhanced obligations with strong sanctions. Our Respect Zone calls for the introduction of a tax so that the major digital platforms will participate in the funding of associations committed to the fight against cyberviolence.says Philippe Coen, President of Respect Zone.

Contact : info@respectzone.org

PARTAGER

Paris, le 27 octobre 2020

CONTRE LES APPELS A LA HAINE, A LA VIOLENCE ET A LA DESTRUCTION DE LA FRANCE 

L’association Respect Zone de lutte contre les cyberviolences souhaite rendre hommage à Monsieur Samuel Paty, professeur assassiné pour avoir simplement exercé sa mission d’éducation.

Elle souhaite adresser toutes ses plus sincères condoléances à sa famille et à ses proches.

Monsieur Samuel Paty était un professeur très apprécié et qui se préoccupait de l’avenir de ses élèves : un de ces professeurs qui marque notre adolescence, dont nous n’oublions jamais le nom, ni les paroles, ni le visage.

C’était un professeur ouvert sur le monde et sur les cultures, qui avait pour seul objectif d’ouvrir l’esprit de ses élèves, de leur donner les clés pour mieux comprendre le monde qui nous entoure.

Il a fallu qu’il fasse un cours sur la liberté d’expression, pour que certaines personnes en désaccord avec les valeurs de notre République s’insurgent et que d’autres commettent l’acte odieux que nous connaissons.

Nous associons au souvenir de ce professeur, celui de Jonathan Sandler, professeur assassiné le 19 mars 2012 avec ses deux petits garçons Ariéh et Gabriel devant l’école Ozar Hatorah de Toulouse..

Après le choc et la sidération, puis l’hommage appuyé et le recueillement, l’heure est venue pour nous de nous poser les questions qui s’imposent, à l’heure où les valeurs de notre République sont remises en cause par certains de nos concitoyens et par des gouvernements étrangers :

Comment faire vivre la laïcité ?

Comment transmettre les valeurs de la République et de la démocratie ?

Comment préserver la liberté d’expression tout en éradiquant la haine en ligne ?

Revenons sur la liberté d’expression. Le respect de la liberté d’expression revient à garantir l’esprit de nos lois : toute critique est réputée licite et légitime tant qu’elle vise les Choses (Dieu, Allah, YVH, leurs émissaires, l’Église de Rome, le Socialisme, l’Écologisme, le Véganisme, le Capitalisme, le Scoutisme, etc.) et non les Êtres.

Le respect de la liberté d’expression, c’est donner toute sa place à l’opinion, au débat sans que quiconque ne puisse être inquiété pour son intégrité et sa sécurité.

Le respect de la liberté d’expression, c’est garantir à toutes et tous la possibilité de disposer de la capacité à décoder l’information, détecter les manipulations et les fausses informations, s’émanciper et construire ses propres convictions.

Il devient urgent d’aborder cette question avec tous les collégiens et lycéens de France.

Pour cela, l’association Respect Zone émet trois propositions :

   1. À la rentrée des vacances scolaires, faire une minute de silence en hommage à Monsieur Samuel Paty et échanger avec tous les collégiens et lycéens de France sur la question du respect de la liberté d’expression, de l’usage des outils numériques et des valeurs de la République

   2. Instaurer « la journée du respect » le 16 octobre de chaque année en hommage à Monsieur Samuel Paty et inviter tous les collégiens et lycéens à réfléchir sur la question du respect de la liberté d’expression et des valeurs de la République

   3. Responsabiliser les grandes plateformes du numérique et les engager à une modération accrue et citoyenne tout en les faisant participer pleinement à la vie démocratique par une taxe abondant un fonds public de soutien aux associations luttant contre les cyberviolences pour le respect de la liberté d’expression et les valeurs de la République

« L’assassinat de Samuel Paty et la vague de contenus haineux à laquelle nous assistons depuis le 16 octobre démontrent que les dispositifs mis en place depuis 20 ans ne sont plus adaptés à notre société. Notre association Respect Zone réclame dans chaque classe et dès la rentrée scolaire l’instauration d’une minute de silence précédée d’une discussion obligatoire sur l’attentat du 16 octobre ainsi que la création d’une journée annuelle du respect. Par ailleurs, il devient urgent d’adopter au plan européen de nouvelles règles qui responsabilisent les plateformes de réseaux sociaux et leur imposent des obligations renforcées avec des sanctions fortes. Notre association Respect Zone souhaite qu’une taxe soit mise en place pour que les grandes plateformes du numérique participent au financement des associations engagées dans la lutte contre les cyberviolences. » déclare Philippe Coen, président de Respect Zone.

Contact  presse : info@respectzone.org

PARTAGER