Accueil RZ

RZ

Respect Zone is a non-profit organisation (under the French “law of 1901”), founded in 2012.

 

The association relies on the time and energy generously given by its workers and partners, and on donations and grants received. The French tax authorities have formally recognised that donations given to Respect Zone are deductible, and also RZ’s capacity to issue CERFA receipts (for tax deductions in France). Donors, whether natural or legal persons, are therefore encouraged to support Respect Zone financially in its educational campaign. The same goes for other countries where the association is established.

 

A French NGO?

 

Our goal is to promote respect on the internet. Respect Zone is a non-profit community initiative, with no political or religious affiliations, that offers a simple, ethical label to be used and displayed. The label is free to use, self-certifying, and accessible to all those who subscribe to the principle of respect on the internet, as well as to the Respect Zone Charter (available on the website); it is a positive label to show respect. Respect Zone offers a modern educational tool to fight against racism, anti-semitism, sexism, homophobia, the glorification of terrorism, the stigma of disabilities, and harassment. The association is a civil initiative founded in France which brings together members and partners from various backgrounds. The Respect Zone label has already been adopted by a large number of people – both children and adults – on profile pictures, by companies (including Free and Microsoft), law firms, the Paris Bar, and institutions or associations who want to clearly show their commitment to the Respect Charter, whilst also respecting the freedom of responsible expression.

 

WHAT WE DO

  • The label:Photo+logo The Respect Zone label encourages internet users to moderate their comments and so protects them against hate speech that pollutes online spaces and affects the most vulnerable among us. The Respect Zone label aims to lend its support to everyone — companies as well as individuals — in their personal efforts to keep their online exchanges peaceful, and to enhance their sense of respect. The Respect Zone label has already been adopted by a large number of people — both children and adults — in profile photos, by companies (including Free and Microsoft), law firms, the Paris Bar, and institutions or associations wishing to clearly show their commitment to the charter, whilst also respecting the freedom of responsible expression.
  • The Charter: every person or entity that adopts the Respect Zone label must comply with the Respect Zone charter: CHARTE-RESPECT-ZONE-FR
  • The Unicorn/vs haters campaign: Respect Zone’s latest success was a campaign raising awareness of cyber-discrimination and hate called ‘Unicorns vs. Haters’, which aimed to ridicule hate with different tools: – a plug-in, an anti-hate shield, logos installed on profiles by forums and websites that allow internet users to comment, and the production of two short videos that were shared on social media. Convincing webmasters to adopt RZ’s counter-speech function, we managed to reach 20,000 people.

visuel_licornes_vs_haters_rz56b0802b3fabd

Our tools can be used by:

  • Schools: 22 schools have been certified by Respect Zone and we have raised awareness at even more, thanks to Respect Zone’s partnership with the French Ministry of National Education. Respect Zone volunteers are committed to inventing solutions, taking action both in schools and online, and helping to combat the spread of hate and harassment in all its forms. We are developing a welcome booklet for schools, which is now 30 pages long. It lists the best practices of certified establishments. A growing number of institutions, companies and schools (+ 20 in France and Belgium) call on us each week.

mairie1

  • Other related associations, notably the Respect Zone Alliance — a group of NGOs, associations, organizations or think tanks that share the same values and struggles. This alliance was created to share best practices and support each other in advancing our common cause, the fight against cyber violence. Its mission is therefore to unite all NGOs working for a better Internet.

 

  • Online platforms and blogs, including Facebook.

Lastly, Respect Zone regularly carries out campaigns to raise awareness of cyber violence: in February 2015, on Safer Internet Day, Respect Zone launched a communication campaign, ‘One minute of silence against cyberviolence’. Success was immediate as we generated several hundred press mentions.

Accueil L’association

L’association

image_respect_zone_org2

Respect Zone est une association à but non lucratif (loi 1901), fondée en 2012.

L’association vit de la générosité en énergie de ses actifs et partenaires et des dons et subventions qu’elle reçoit. L’Administration fiscale a expressément reconnu la déductibilité des dons consentis à Respect Zone et sa capacité à émettre des reçus CERFA (déduction au titre de l’IR, de l’IS et ISF). Les donateurs, personnes physiques ou morales, sont ainsi encouragés à la soutenir financièrement dans son action pédagogique.  Il en va de même dans les pays dans lesquels l’association s’implante.

Une ONG française ?

L’objectif de l’association Respect Zone est de promouvoir le respect sur internet. Respect Zone est une initiative associative issue de la société civile, sans but lucratif, apolitique et non religieuse, qui propose un label éthique simple d’usage et d’affichage, sans frais, auto certifiant, accessible à tous ceux qui souscrivent au principe de respect sur Internet ainsi qu’à la charte Respect Zone (disponible sur le site Internet) : un label positif pour afficher le respect. Respect Zone entend ainsi offrir un outil pédagogique moderne de lutte contre le racisme, l’antisémitisme, le sexisme, l’homophobie, l’apologie du terrorisme, stigmatisation des handicaps et le harcèlement. L’association est une initiative citoyenne fondée en France et qui rassemble des membres et partenaires issus d’horizons variés. Le label Respect Zone a déjà été adopté par un grand nombre de personnes, enfants et adultes, en photos de profil, d’entreprises (dont Free et Microsoft), des cabinets d’Avocat, le Barreau de Paris et des institutions ou associations désireuses d’afficher clairement leur adhésion à la charte du respect, avec le souci permanent de la liberté de l’expression responsable.

NOS ACTIONS ET INNOVATIONS ?

  • un label : Photo+logoLe label Respect Zone, incite les interlocuteurs connectés à une modération de leur propos et les protège ainsi des discours haineux qui polluent l’espace en ligne et touchent les plus exposés d’entre nous. Le label Respect Zone vise à apporter son soutien à tous les acteurs, entreprises comme individus, dans leur démarche personnelle de pacification des échanges en ligne, et à valoriser leur sens du respect ; Le label Respect Zone a déjà été adopté par un grand nombre de personnes, enfants et adultes, en photos de profil, d’entreprises (dont Free et Microsoft), des cabinets d’Avocat, le Barreau de Paris et des institutions ou associations désireuses d’afficher clairement leur adhésion à la charte du respect, avec le souci permanent de la liberté de l’expression responsable.
  • La charte : chaque personne ou entité qui adopte le label respect Zone, doivent respecter la charte Respect zone : CHARTE-RESPECT-ZONE-FR
  • La campagne licorne/vs haters : Le dernier grand succès de l’association est une campagne de sensibilisation contre les cyber discriminations/haines : « Licornes vs. Haters » qui vise à ridiculiser la haine avec différents outils:- plug in, bouclier anti haine, logo de profil installés par les sites de forum et qui acceptent les commentaires des internautes, réalisation de 2 clips, diffusion sur les réseaux sociaux. Convaincre les responsables des sites internet à adopter cette fonctionnalité de contre discours de RZ. 20 000 personnes ont été touchées directement.                                                                                                              visuel_licornes_vs_haters_rz56b0802b3fabd

Nos outils accompagnent : 

  • Des établissements scolaires : 22 établissements scolaires sont labellisés Respect Zone et davantage sont sensibilisés grâce à son partenariat avec l’Education nationale . Les bénévoles de Respect Zone s’engagent pour inventer des solutions, agir à l’école, en ligne, aider à remédier contre la diffusion de la haine et du harcèlement sous toutes ses formes. Nous développons un Livret d’accueil pour les établissements scolaires qui fait maintenant 30 pages. Il rassemble les bonnes pratiques des établissements labellisés. Un nombre croissant d’institutions, d’entreprises, d’écoles (+ 20 France et Belgique) font appel à nous semaine après semaine,saint pol roux

 

  • Des différentes associations autour notamment de l’Alliance Respect Zone, un groupe d’ONG, associations, organisations ou think tanks qui partagent les mêmes valeurs et les mêmes combats. Cette alliance a été créée dans le but de partager les bonnes pratiques et de se soutenir mutuellement pour faire avancer notre cause commune, la lutte contre les cyber violences. Elle a donc pour vocation de fédérer toutes les ONG qui œuvrent pour un Internet meilleur

 

  • De plateformes et blogs internet dont Facebook.

Enfin Respect zone réalise régulièrement des campagnes de sensibilisation à la cyberviolence : en février 2015, le jour du SafeInternetDay, Respect Zone a lancé une campagne de communication, « une minute de silence contre la cyberviolence ». Le succès a été immédiat : nous avons généré plusieurs centaines de retombées presse.